/ r e s u m e

Maren-21.jpg

The soprano Maren Schwier completed her master’s degree in opera singing with Prof. Ursula Targler-Sell at the Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts in 2017 and already during her studies established herself as a sought-after interpreter in a wide-ranging repertoire from classical to contemporary.
Since the 2016/17 season she has been a soloist at the Staatstheater Mainz - first in the young ensemble and since the 2018/19 season as a permanent member of the ensemble.

Maren Schwier made her music theater debut in 2013 at the Hessisches Staatstheater Wiesbaden in the premiere of Büchner's Frauen by the composer Paul L. Schäffer. Her special talent and her passion for contemporary compositions were already evident back then; this was followed by numerous engagements at renowned festivals and organizers, such as the Musikfesttage Wien (2015), the SWR Schlossfestspiele Schwetzingen (2018), the Darmstadt Summer Courses (2018), the Alte Oper Frankfurt (2018/19), the German Embassy in Paris (2018) or the Rheingau Music Festival (2016 and 2018).

Maren Schwier has also appeared in numerous productions of contemporary works and piece developments at the Staatstheater Mainz, such as the long-standing music theater series (2016-2019) Hörtheater by Anselm Dalferth or the co-production Argo with the SWR Festival Schwetzingen (2018).

For her portrayal of Aphrodite in Argo, she was nominated by the journal Opernwelt for the award Young Artist of the Year.
Maren Schwier is regularly involved in premieres of contemporary works, develops and performs her own solo performances. She is constantly working with composers of our time and various instrumental ensembles (including the Mutare Ensemble, the ensemble hand werk, the IEMA and the Ukho Ensemble Kiev).

Also in own ensembles (like the blank space ensemble with the percussionist Max Gaertner or the ensemble in transition an ensemble for new music, sign poetry and dance) she drives the development and conception of new pieces and performances. She was also selected by the German Music Fund as a scholarship holder for the development of new concert formats and programs.

 

In addition to their commitment to new music, Maren Schwier's versatile voice and her acting strength are also regularly featured in the classical opera repertoire. 

Amongst others she sang during past seasons at the Staatstheater Mainz Adele in The bat, Anna in Nabucco  and Gretel in Hansel and Gretel.

Previous guest engagements included productions such as Cosi fan tutte (Fiordiligi, 2015 Young Opera Rhein-Main eV), The abduction from the Seraglio as a children's opera (Konstanze, 2014 Bad Vilbel Castle Festival), The Turn Of The Screw (Miss Jessel, 2016 Studiotheater Belvedere Weimar).

 

In the current season, Maren Schwier can still be seen as Gretel and numerous revivals from the last season at the Staatstheater Mainz. She also sings in the new productions of Peter Pan (R. Ayres - Wendy), The conquest of Mexico (W. Rihm - high soprano), Miss Donnithorne's Maggot  (P.M. Davies - Miss Donnithorne) and Im Dickicht (UA, I. Mundry - judge) a world premiere and co-production with the SWR Festspiele Schwetzingen.

All dates can be found on this page / c a l e n d a r.

/ l e b e n s l a u f

Maren-21.jpg

Die Sopranistin Maren Schwier schloss 2017 an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt bei Prof. Ursula Targler-Sell ihren Master in Operngesang ab und etablierte sich bereits während ihrer Studienzeit als gefragte Interpretin in einem breitgefächerten Repertoire von der Klassik bis zur zeitgenössischen Moderne.
Seit der Spielzeit 2016/17 ist sie als Solistin am Staatstheater Mainz verpflichtet - zunächst im Jungen Ensemble und seit der Spielzeit 2018/19 als festes Ensemblemitglied am Haus.

Ihr Musiktheaterdebüt gab Maren Schwier 2013 am Hessischen Staatstheater Wiesbaden in der Uraufführung von Büchners Frauen des Komponisten Paul L. Schäffer. Schon damals zeigte sich ihr besonderes Talent und ihre Leidenschaft für zeitgenössische Kompositionen; es folgten zahlreiche Engagements bei renommierten Festivals und Veranstaltern, wie den Musikfesttagen Wien (2015), den SWR Schlossfestspielen Schwetzingen (2018), den Darmstädter Ferienkursen (2018), der Alten Oper Frankfurt (2018/19), der Deutschen Botschaft Paris (2018) oder dem Rheingau Musikfestival (2016 und 2018).

Auch am Staatstheater Mainz war Maren Schwier in zahlreichen Produktionen zeitgenössischer Werke und Stückentwicklungen zu sehen, wie u.a. der langjährigen Musiktheaterreihe (2016-2019) Hörtheater von Anselm Dalferth oder der Koproduktion Argo mit den SWR Festspielen Schwetzingen (2018).

Für ihre Darstellung der Aphrodite in Argo wurde sie von der Fachzeitschrift Opernwelt als Nachwuchskünstlerin des Jahres nominiert.
Maren Schwier ist regelmäßig an Uraufführungen zeitgenössischer Werke beteiligt, entwickelt und führt eigene Soloperformances auf. So arbeitet sie stetig mit Komponist:innen unserer Zeit sowie verschiedenen Instrumentalensembles (u.a. dem Mutare Ensemble, dem ensemble hand werk, der IEMA oder dem Ukho Ensemble Kiev) zusammen.

Auch in eigenen Ensembles (wie dem blank space ensemble mit dem Percussionisten Max Gaertner oder dem ensemble in transition, einem Ensemble für Neue Musik, Gebärdenpoesie und Tanz) treibt sie die Entwicklung und Konzeption neuer Stücke und Performances voran. So wurde sie auch vom Deutschen Musikfonds als Stipendiatin für die Entwicklung neuer Konzertformate und -programme ausgewählt.

 

Neben ihrem Engagement in der Neuen Musik offenbaren sich Maren Schwiers wandlungsfähige Stimme und ihre darstellerische Stärke auch regelmäßig im klassischen Opernrepertoire. 

Am Staatstheater Mainz war sie in den vergangenen Spielzeiten u.a. als Adele in Die Fledermaus, Anna in Nabucco und Gretel in Hänsel und Gretel zu erleben.

Frühere Gastengagements umfassten u.a. Produktionen wie Cosí fan tutte (Fiordiligi, 2015 Junge Oper Rhein-Main e.V.), Die Entführung aus dem Serail als Kinderoper (Konstanze, 2014 Burgfestspiele Bad Vilbel), The Turn Of The Screw (Miss Jessel, 2016 Studiotheater Belvedere Weimar).

 

In der aktuellen Spielzeit ist Maren Schwier im Staatstheater Mainz weiterhin als Gretel sowie zahlreichen Wiederaufnahmen aus der letzten Spielzeit zu erleben. Dazu singt sie in den Neuproduktionen von Peter Pan (R. Ayres - Wendy), Die Eroberung von Mexico (W. Rihm - hoher Sopran), Miss Donnithorne’s Maggot (P.M. Davies - Miss Donnithorne) und Im Dickicht (UA, I. Mundry - Richterin) eine Uraufführung und Koproduktion mit den SWR Festspielen Schwetzingen.

Alle Termine finden Sie auf dieser Seite unter / k a l e n d e r.