/ c d - r e v i e w s

Soprano (Maren S[c]hwier) and first violinist (Rachel Koblyakov) are particularly commendable performers in this album. S[c]hwier shows control and expressivity throughout Iridescent Notation.  Her performance in VI. Come Back, Come Back, O Glittering and White is extremely beautiful, and she handles the wild juxtapositions in movement IV. with ease.

Review by Thomas McGee, www.avantmusicnews.com 

 

A big standing ovation must go to soprano Maren Schwier for an incredible display of vocal acrobatics and control of colour, in what is quite a challenging work for the voice.

Review by Adam Scime, www.thewmachenote.com 

 

In Iridescent Notation, the most recently completed of these pieces, the soprano Maren Schwier necessarily utilises a variety of vocal stylings to communicate five elusive texts from the pen of the English-Irish poet Tom Raworth. [...]

He [Samuel Andreyev] is helped enormously by Schwier’s dazzling performance. [...] In the five vocal numbers Schwier employs an extraordinary variety of means to convey the stop-start stream-of-consciousness in the broken phrases of Raworth’s elusive aphorisms – Andreyev’s taxing yet communicative vocal writing exudes allure. At the conclusion of this cantata many listeners will be surprised by the lyricism and lucidity at its heart.

Review by Richard Hanlon, www.musicweb-international.com

 

Soprano Maren Schwier gives a sensitive “reading” of the five poems, from the strictest sung spoken word (Moonshine) to very effusive song (No Hard Feelings), with remarkable plasticity of timbre and stage presence.

Review (in the French original) by Michèle Tosi, www.resmusica.com

/ c d - k r i t i k e n

(Übersetzungen aus dem Englischen und Französischen - die englischen Originaltexte finden Sie hier.)

Besonders lobenswert zu erwähnende Interpretinnen auf diesem Album sind die Sopranistin (Maren S[c]hwier) und die erste Geigerin (Rachel Koblyakov). S[c]hwier demonstriert über die gesamte Kantate "Iridescent Notation" hinweg Kontrolle und Ausdruckskraft. Ihre Darbietung in VI. Come Back, Come Back, O Glittering and White ist außergewöhnlich schön und sie bewältigt die wilden, kontrastierenden Elemente in Satz IV. mit Leichtigkeit.

Rezension von Thomas McGee, www.avantmusicnews.com

 

Eine riesige Standing Ovation gilt der Sopranistin Maren Schwier für ihre beeindruckende Präsentation an Stimmakrobatik und Beherrschung von Farben; dieses Werk stellt sängerisch eine echte Herausforderung dar.

Rezension von Adam Scime, www.thewholenote.com

 

 


Die Sopranistin Maren Schwier verwendet in "Iridescent Notation", der jüngsten Komposition auf dem Album, eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Gesangsstile, um die fünf schwer fassbaren Texte aus der Feder des englisch-irischen Dichters Tom Raworth zu interpretieren. [...]

Er [Samuel Andreyev] wird hierbei enorm von Schwiers brillanter Darbietung unterstützt. [...] In den fünf Gesangsnummern verwendet Schwier außergewöhnlich vielfältige Mittel, um den brüchigen Bewusstseinsstrom der von Raworths schwer fassbar formulierten Aphorismen zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Andreyevs kompliziertes und dennoch kommunikatives Vokalschreiben verströmt eine Faszination. Am Ende der Kantate wird die Poesie und ihre innerliche Klarheit viele Zuhörer überraschen.

Rezension von Richard Hanlon, www.musicweb-international.com

Die Sopranistin Maren Schwier präsentiert sich als sensible „Leserin“ der fünf Gedichte, angefangen beim strengen Sprechsingen (Moonshine) bis hin zum überschwänglichen Lied (No Hard Feelings), mit bemerkenswerter Plastizität in Klangfarbe und Theatralität.

Rezension (im französischen Original) von Michèle Tosi, www.resmusica.com