/ c o n c e r t  r e v i e w s

With the engagement of the guest soprano Maren Schwier [...] a very lucky choice had been made: the singer, who is particularly experienced in the field of new music, shone with an easily understandable, extremely flexible and nuanced voice and conveyed the sometimes far-reaching declamations of her complaint fulfilled parts very well and appropriately dramatic.

March 25th, 2019, Baden's latest news

 

 

Maren Schwier, trained in Frankfurt and quickly recognized in the region as a new voice between the classical operatic repertoire and the most demanding new music, is truly a soprano who is blessed with a common throat, who even with the bizarre zigzag melos of Michael Sell ​​is not faced with insurmountable problems.

Wolfgang Sandner, 09/21/2017, FAZ

 

 

Maren Schwier could hardly have presented herself in a more versatile manner, as she brilliantly interpreted a breakneck passage of the title character from Alban Berg's “Lulu” and seductively the Vilja song from “The Merry Widow” by the operetta writer Franz Léhar.

Markus Kuhn, June 3, 2017, Frankfurter Neue Presse

 

 

Difficult seemed to mobilize all possible tones and loud chants. She moved vocally from the very top to the very bottom, sometimes breathed or whispered, sometimes in spoken chanting and surprised with tones that are probably not to be found in any opera literature. [...] In the absence of a duet partner, Schwier took over both voices and, with her grandiose soprano voice, managed the "descent" to the bass, whereby she also owed nothing in terms of facial expressions and gestures. [...] There was cheering applause in the ballroom for the "musical expansion of consciousness".

Kirsten Benekam, April 26th, 2019, Berchtesgadener Anzeiger

/ k o n z e r t k r i t i k e n

Mit der Verpflichtung der Gastsopranistin Maren Schwier [...] hatte man eine überaus glückliche Wahl getroffen: die besonders im Bereich Neuer Musik erfahrene Sängerin glänzte mit gut verständlicher, überaus flexibler und nuancenreicher, präsenter Stimme und vermittelte die mitunter weit ausgreifenden Deklamationen ihres von Klage erfüllten Parts sehr gelungen und angemessen dramatisch.

25.03.2019, Badische Neueste Nachrichten

Maren Schwier, in Frankfurt ausgebildet und in der Region nach ihrem Studium in kürzester Zeit schon mehrfach als neue Stimme zwischen klassischem Opernrepertoire und anspruchsvollster Neuer Musik ausgewiesen, ist wahrlich eine mit einer geläufigen Gurgel gesegnete Sopranistin, die selbst durch das skurrilste Zickzack-Melos von Michael Sell nicht vor unüberwindbare Probleme gestellt wird.

Wolfgang Sandner, 21.09.2017, F.A.Z 

 

Maren Schwier hätte sich kaum vielseitiger präsentieren können, interpretierte sie doch bravourös eine halsbrecherische Passage der Titelfigur aus Alban Bergs „Lulu“ und verführerisch das Vilja-Lied aus der „Lustigen Witwe“ des Operettenverfassers Franz Léhar.

Markus Kuhn, 03.06.2017, Frankfurter Neue Presse

 

Schwier schien alles an möglichen Tönen und Lautgesängen zu mobilisieren. Dabei bewegte sie sich stimmlich von ganz oben nach ganz unten, mal gehaucht oder geflüstert, mal im Sprechgesang und überraschte mit Tönen, die wohl in keinerlei Opernliteratur zu finden sind. [...] In Ermangelung eines Duett-Partners übernahm Schwier beide Stimmen und schaffte mit ihrer grandiosen Sopranstimme den »Abstieg« zum Bass, wobei sie auch mimisch und gestisch nichts schuldig blieb. [...] Für die »musikalische Bewusstseinserweiterung« gab es im Festsaal jubelnden Applaus.

Kirsten Benekam, 26.04.2019, Berchtesgadener Anzeiger