/ s t a g e  r e v i e w s

// Radio Star

 

Schwier immediately casts a spell over the room: as performer and singer. Her interpretations are penetrating, powerful and cheerful [...].

Manuel Wenda, May 21, 2022, Allgemeine Zeitung

// Gudrun's song

 

Maren Schwier, who stepped in at short notice, also acts with an enthralling presence.

Silvia Adler, Opernwelt 06/2022

// al gran sole carico d'amore

Mastering the vocally very demanding soprano parts with numerous, quite breakneck interval jumps  Marie-Christine Haase, Alexandra Samouilidou, Maren Schwier and Linda Sommerhage with remarkable vocal  flexibility, high security and the necessary punch.

Lars-Erik Gerth, Das Opernglas 06/2022

Marie-Christine Haase, Alexandra Samouilidou, Maren Schwier and Linda Sommerhage embody these soprano parts, which soar to the highest vocal register, with dizzying perfection.

Uwe Schweikert, Opernwelt 05/2022

 

In "Al gran sole..." a quartet of female voices ultimately carries the entire construct of the score with commentary, invocation, protest, reflection and devotion. And this foundation was wonderful in Mainz. Marie-Christine Haase, Alexandra Samouilidou, Maren Schwier and Linda Sommerhage mastered the spherical and seraphic vocalises, floating and standing in the highest register, in combination with the scenic tasks assigned to them .

Bernhard Uske, March 13, 2022, Frankfurter Rundschau

However, as a musical revolutionary, Nono remains committed to the beauty of the vocal line and has entrusted the central female figures to four soprano voices (which were excellently cast in Mainz).

Volker Milch, March 14, 2022, Allgemeine Zeitung

Of the four main soprano roles, three are permanently committed to the house, Alexandra Samouilidou, Maren Schwier and Linda Sommerhage, joined by Marie-Christine Haase, all fantastic and effective in the otherworldly sounds they had to sing.

Friedrich Spangemacher, March 18, 2022,  Opus culture magazine

// Fisches Nachtgesang (engl: Fish's nightsong)  

Who is Lady Dada? Maren Schwier is Lady Dada. The young singer from the Mainz opera ensemble probably got her nickname at the latest after her fast-paced performance of Kurt Schwitters' "Ursonate" at the premiere of the program "Schöne Welt, du gingst in Fransen" in the newly opened Kakadu Bar of the Mainz State Theater. And it is precisely this number that can now be heard and seen again - as the highlight of a one-hour Dadaism evening, which she put on at the same location together with her colleague Denis Larisch from the acting ensemble. Once again we can admire the performance by heart, the skilful transitions between nuanced speaking, chanting and individual sung tones, the diverse nuances of expression between obvious joke and apparent seriousness, the flexible facial expressions and the dosed use of gestures. Also this time she is decked out like one of Oskar Schlemmer's abstract stage characters.

Andreas Hauff, March 22, 2022, Der neue Merker

Schwier and Larisch buzz through the room, sparks fly, a lot comes together: countless weird images and scenes are conjured up, playing with syllables is onomatopoeic – Schwier and Larisch shape their performance with precision. The singer convinces primarily with her vocal interludes: "O, how good is it for me in the evening" she breaks it down into its individual parts. Larisch's facial expressions are stoic and effective.

Manuel Wenda, December 3, 2021, Allgemeine Zeitung

// schöne welt, du gingst in fransen (engl: beautiful world, you went in fringes)

The soprano Maren Schwier in a costume that wonderfully satirizes Oskar Schlemmer's "Triadic Ballet" delivers an "Ursonate" that its creator Kurt Schwitters would have been jealous of. 

Eva-Maria Magel, September 23rd, 2021, FAZ

Maren Schwier performs Kurt Schwitters' "Ursonate" in imposing perfection - "Urgeil", to use the words of the fringe-heavy 20s clan on stage.

Maike Hessedenz, September 24th, 2021, Allgemeine Zeitung

// Hansel and Gretel

 

[...] Gretel adorned with curls, wonderfully fresh and full of volume sung by Maren Schwier

Bettina Boyens, June 8th, 2021, Allgemeine Zeitung

 

An opera whose large-scale compositional format is perhaps even more noticeable on an unmistakable June day: the Brünnhildish component of Gretel's “Kikeriki”, the relationship between witch and mime whispering. But it may also have something to do with the fact that Hermann Bäumer conducts a completely unpopular Humperdinck, a serious, broad-based one. And that Maren Schwiers Gretel has a twist in the dramatic as a soprano despite all the childlike nature and play.

Judith von Sternburg, June 7th, 2021, Frankfurter Rundschau

 

// Die Fledermaus (engl: The bat)

 

The chambermaid Adele [...] can shine charmingly as a coloratura soubrette. Maren Schwier does it brilliantly in terms of her acting and singing, so that she gets the greatest sympathy of the audience.

Dietrich Stern, October 6th, 2020, Allgemeine Zeitung

 

Vocally and dramatically, Maren Schwier stood out from the ensemble, as housemaid Adele, agile in the soubretten style, confident in the coloratura and heights.

Guido Holze, October 8th, 2020, FAZ

 

 

 

// Das Tal der Ahnen (engl: The valley of the ancestors)

 

The Valley of the Ancestors is also a tender, intelligent nonsense, a tribute to memories and all sorts of things that rush through your brain. But music and singing are flawless: Paul-Johannes Kirschner and Dominik Fürstberger are excellent on instruments with strange and original numbers, the baritone Brett Carter - as it were as Frank Zappa -, the tenor Johannes Meyer and the soprano Maren Schwier sing between the jokes. The professionalism that is always needed for nonsense is given.

Judith von Sternburg, June 18th, 2020, Frankfurter Rundschau

 

 

 

// The Cold Trip - Eine Winterreise

 

From a brightly lit window of the theater Maren Schwier's radiant singing comes: "Some tears from my eyes have fallen into the snow". The audience looks up in the cold, standing. As if by itself, associations on the subject of longing, exclusion, homelessness are awakened that get under your skin.

Silvia Adler, 03/2020, Opernwelt

 

The loneliness in the "Cold Trip" is of a different kind than in the "Winterreise" - being lost in the crowd is comprehended, lustful and destructive emptiness opens up; electronic beats combine with jazz and blues to create new music. "The stormy morning" becomes "Stormy Monday". All singers convince, Maren Schwier sets highlights.

Manuel Wenda, January 15th, 2020, Allgemeine Zeitung

 

Deutschlandfunk - Kultur heute (January 12th, 2020): "The Cold Trip" by Bernhard Lang as Hörtheater in Mainz [AUDIO]

 

 

 

// ARGO

 

As the only singer of the evening, Maren Schwier sang Aphrodite in an enchantingly beautiful way.

Thomas Rothkegel, May 2nd, 2018, www.swp.de

 

As a seductive, sensual Aphrodite with a very melusinic design, Maren Schwier not only delighted with her coloratura.

Thomas Weiss, April 30th, 2018, www.echo-online.de

 

Even Butes does not plunge headlessly into the sea, but moves in Schwetzingen after a long period of reflection in slow motion into the ankle-deep water, where he is received by Aphrodite (with catsuit, overly long hair and crystalline soprano: Maren Schwier) with radiant singing lines .

Georg Rudiger, April 30th, 2018, www.die-deutsche-buehne.de

 

In Schwetzingen there is long cheering, the great singers Maren Schwier, Jonathan de la Paz Zaens, Alin Deleanu, Brett Carter, Martin Busen and the fine, minimalist director Mirella Weingarten are extensively celebrated.

Reinhard Brembeck, April 29th, 2018, Süddeutsche Zeitung

 

 

 

// Marschmanipulation (engl: March manipulation)


Without sparing themselves physically and vocally, Schwier and Brandes work out the grotesque ambiguity of the topic.

Dietrich Stern, September 5th, 2017, Allgemeine Zeitung

 

Brandes now unfolds this in a cabaret manner together with the opera singer Maren Schwier. Wherever she sings folk tunes or art songs unaccompanied and unprotected, he intervenes with commands. Sometimes the voices are electronically distorted and alienated, but the marching music comes out of the loudspeaker intact.

Andreas Hauff, September 07th, 2017, www.nmz.de

 

 

 

// Tamáss

 

The highlights were the sublimated, erotic percussion scene for table, bottle and glass between Maren Schwier and Ziad Nehme [...]

Doris Kösterke, June 2017, FAZ Rhein-Main

 

 

 

// Armide

 

Maren Schwier and Alexandra Samouilidou are the friends of Armide [...] with cheeky charm and brilliant singing.

Karl Georg Berg, January 16th, 2017, The Rhine Palatinate

 

Splendid batches: […] Armides helpers Phénice and Sidonie (Maren Schwier and Alexandra Samouilidou).

Hans-Klaus Jungheinrich, 03/2017, Opernwelt

/ b ü h n e n k r i t i k e n

// Radio Star

 

Schwier zieht den Raum sogleich in den Bann: als Performerin und Sängerin. Durchdringend, machtvoll wie heiter interpretiert sie [...].

Manuel Wenda, 21.05.2022, Allgemeine Zeitung

 

// Gudruns Lied

 

Auch [...] die kurzfristig eingesprungene Maren Schwier agier[t] mit packender Präsenz.

Silvia Adler, Opernwelt 06/2022

// al gran sole carico d'amore

Die vokal sehr anspruchsvollen und mit zahlreichen, durchaus halsbrecherisch zu nennenden Intervallsprüngen versehenen Sopranpartien bewältigen Marie-Christine Haase, Alexandra Samouilidou, Maren Schwier und Linda Sommerhage auf überzeugende Weise, mit bemerkenswerter stimmlicher Flexibilität, Höhensicherheit und der notwendigen Durchschlagskraft.

Lars-Erik Gerth, Das Opernglas 06/2022

Marie-Christine Haase, Alexandra Samouilidou, Maren Schwier und Linda Sommerhage verkörpern diese bis in die höchste Vokallage entschwebenden Sopranpartien in schwindelerregender Vollendung.

Uwe Schweikert, Opernwelt 05/2022

 

Ein Frauenstimmen-Quartett trägt in „Al gran sole ...“ mit Kommentar, Anrufung, Protest, Besinnung und Hingabe letztlich das gesamte Konstrukt der Partitur. Und dieses Fundament war in Mainz wunderbar. Die sphärischen und seraphischen, in höchster Lage schwebenden und stehenden Vokalisen wurden von Marie-Christine Haase, Alexandra Samouilidou, Maren Schwier und Linda Sommerhage im Verein mit den ihnen zufallenden szenischen Aufgaben herrlich bewältigt.

Bernhard Uske, 13.03.2022, Frankfurter Rundschau

Nono bleibt aber als musikalischer Revolutionär der Schönheit der Gesangslinie verpflichtet und hat die zentralen Frauenfiguren vier (in Mainz vorzüglich besetzten) Sopranstimmen anvertraut.

Volker Milch, 14.03.2022, Allgemeine Zeitung

Von den vier Sopran-Hauptrollen sind drei fest am Haus verpflichtet, Alexandra Samouilidou, Maren Schwier und Linda Sommerhage, zu denen Marie-Christine Haase kam, allesamt phantastisch und wirkungsvoll in den überirdischen Klängen, die sie zu singen hatten.  

Friedrich Spangemacher, 18.03.2022, Opus-kulturmagazin

// Fisches Nachtgesang 

Wer ist Lady Dada? Maren Schwier ist Lady Dada. Ihren Beinamen hat die junge Sängerin aus dem Mainzer Opernensemble wohl spätestens nach ihrem rasanten Vortrag von Kurt Schwitters »Ursonate" bei der Premiere des Programms „Schöne Welt, du gingst in Fransen" in der neu eröffneten Kakadu-Bar des Mainzer Staatstheaters bekommen. Und genau diese Nummer gibt es nun noch einmal zu hören und zu sehen - als Höhepunkt eines gut einstündigen Dada-Abends, den sie am selben Ort zusammen mit ihrem Kollegen Denis Larisch aus dem Schauspiel-Ensemble gestaltet. Noch einmal dürfen wir den auswendigen Vortrag bewundern, die gekonnten Übergänge zwischen nuanciertem Sprechen, Sprechgesang und einzelnen gesungenen Tönen, die vielfältigen Ausdrucksnuancen zwischen offensichtlichem Ulk und scheinbarem Ernst, das bewegliche Minenspiel und die dosiert eingesetzten Gesten. Auch diesmal ist sie dabei wie eine von Oskar Schlemmers abstrakten Bühnenfiguren ausstaffiert.

Andreas Hauff, 22.03.2022, Der neue Merker

Schwier und Larisch schwirren durch den Raum, der Funke springt über, vieles kommt zusammen: Unzählige schräge Bilder und Szenen werden beschworen, lautmalerisch sind Spielereien mit Silben – präzise gestalten Schwier und Larisch ihre Performance. Die Sängerin überzeugt primär durch vokalistische Einlagen: „O wie wohl ist mir am Abend“ zerlegt sie in Einzelteile. Larischs Mienenspiel ist stoisch wie effektvoll.

Manuel Wenda, 03.12.2021, Allgemeine Zeitung

// schöne Welt, du gingst in Fransen

Die Sopranistin Maren Schwier in einem Kostüm, das Oskar Schlemmers "Triadisches Ballett" herrlich persifliert, liefert eine "Ursonate", auf die auch ihr Schöpfer Kurt Schwitters neidisch gewesen wäre. 

Eva-Maria Magel, 23.09.2021, FAZ

Maren Schwier führt die "Ursonate" von Kurt Schwitters in imposanter Perfektion auf - "urgeil", um es mit den Worten der fransenlastigen 20-er-Jahre Sippe auf der Bühne zu sagen.

Maike Hessedenz, 24.09.2021, Allgemeine Zeitung

// Hänsel und Gretel

[...] die lockenverzierte Gretel, herrlich frisch und volumenreich gesungen von Maren Schwier

Bettina Boyens, 08.06.2021, Allgemeine Zeitung

Einer Oper, deren kompositorisches Großformat vielleicht an einem unweinerlichen Junitag erst recht auffällt: die brünnhildische Komponente von Gretels „Kikeriki“, die Verwandtschaft zwischen Hexen- und Mime-Gesäusel. Es mag aber auch damit zusammenhängen, dass Hermann Bäumer einen ganz unpossierlichen Humperdinck dirigiert, einen ernsten, in die Breite gehenden. Und dass Maren Schwiers Gretel bei aller Kindhaftigkeit in Gestalt und Spiel als Sopran einen Dreh ins Dramatische hat. 

Judith von Sternburg, 07.06.2021, Frankfurter Rundschau

// Die Fledermaus

Die Kammerzofe Adele [...] darf als Koloratur-Soubrette charmant brillieren. Maren Schwier macht das schauspielerisch und sängerisch glänzend, sodass ihr auch die größten Sympathien des Publikums zufliegen.

Dietrich Stern, 06.10.2020, Allgemeine Zeitung

Stimmlich und darstellerisch ragte aus dem Ensemble Maren Schwier heraus, als Hausmädchen Adele nach Soubretten-Art agil, sicher in den Koloraturen und Höhen.

Guido Holze, 08.10.2020, FAZ

 ​

// Das Tal der Ahnen

Das Tal der Ahnen ist schon auch ein zärtlicher, intelligenter Unfug, ein Tribut an Erinnerungen und an das Allerlei, das einem durchs Hirn saust. Aber musiziert und gesungen wird makellos: Paul-Johannes Kirschner und Dominik Fürstberger sind an den Instrumenten mit fremden und eigenen Nummern, der Bariton Brett Carter – gewissermaßen als Frank Zappa –, der Tenor Johannes Meyer und die Sopranistin Maren Schwier singen zwischen den Späßen ausgezeichnet. Die Professionalität, die es für Quatsch stets braucht, ist gegeben.

Judith von Sternburg, 18.06.2020, Frankfurter Rundschau

// The Cold Trip - Eine Winterreise

Aus einem hell erleuchteten Fenster des Theaters dringt Maren Schwiers strahlender Gesang: "Manche Trän aus meinen Augen ist gefallen in den Schnee". Das Publikum schaut in der Kälte stehend hinauf. Wie von selbst werden Assoziationen zum Thema Sehnsucht, Ausgrenzung, Heimatlosigkeit wachgerufen, die unter die Haut gehen.

Silvia Adler, 03/2020, Opernwelt

 

Die Einsamkeit im "Cold Trip" ist anderer Art als in der "Winterreise" - das Verlorensein in der Masse wird nachvollzogen, lustvolle wie zerstörerische Leere zieht auf; elektronische Beats vereinigen sich mit Jazz und Blues zu neuer Musik. "Der stürmische Morgen" wird zum "Stormy Monday". Alle Sänger überzeugen, Maren Schwier setzt Glanzlichter.

Manuel Wenda, 15.01.2020, Allgemeine Zeitung

Deutschlandfunk - Kultur heute (12.01.2020): „The Cold Trip“ von Bernhard Lang als Hörtheater in Mainz [AUDIO]

// ARGO

Als einzige Sängerin des Abends sang Maren Schwier die Aphrodite berückend schön.

Thomas Rothkegel, 02.05.2018, www.swp.de

 

Als lockend-sinnliche, recht melusinenhaft angelegte Aphrodite begeisterte Maren Schwier nicht nur mit ihren Koloraturen.

Thomas Weiss, 30.04.2018, www.echo-online.de

 

Auch Butes stürzt sich nicht kopflos ins Meer, sondern bewegt sich in Schwetzingen nach langer Bedenkzeit in Zeitlupe ins knöcheltiefe Wasser, wo er von Aphrodite (mit Catsuit, überlangem Haar und kristallinem Sopran: Maren Schwier) mit strahlenden Gesangslinien empfangen wird [...].

Georg Rudiger, 30.04.2018, www.die-deutsche-buehne.de

 

In Schwetzingen wird lange gejubelt, werden die großartigen Sänger Maren Schwier, Jonathan de la Paz Zaens, Alin Deleanu, Brett Carter, Martin Busen und die fein minimalistisch arbeitende Regisseurin Mirella Weingarten ausgiebig gefeiert.

Reinhard Brembeck, 29.04.2018, Süddeutsche Zeitung

 

 

// Marschmanipulation


Ohne sich körperlich und stimmlich zu schonen, arbeiten Schwier und Brandes die groteske Doppelbödigkeit des Themas heraus.

Dietrich Stern, 05.09.2017, Allgemeine Zeitung

 

Das entfaltet Brandes nun zusammen mit der Opernsängerin Maren Schwier auf kabarettistische Weise. Wo sie unbegleitet und ungeschützt Volksweisen oder Kunstlieder singt, fährt er mit Kommandos dazwischen. Manchmal werden die Stimmen elektronisch verzerrt und verfremdet, doch die Marschmusik kommt unversehrt aus dem Lautsprecher.

Andreas Hauff, 07.09.2017, www.nmz.de

 

 

// Tamáss

Glanzpunkte waren die sublimiert-erotische Perkussions-Szene für Tisch, Flasche und Glas zwischen Maren Schwier und Ziad Nehme [...]

Doris Kösterke, Juni 2017, FAZ Rhein-Main

 

 

// Armide

Maren Schwier und Alexandra Samouilidou geben mit kessem Charme und brilliantem Gesang die Freundinnen der Armide [...].

Karl Georg Berg, 16.01.2017, Die Rheinpfalz

 

Prächtige Chargen: […] Armides Helferinnen Phénice und Sidonie (Maren Schwier und Alexandra Samouilidou).

Hans-Klaus Jungheinrich, März 2017, Opernwelt